I would like that extra layer of defense. Multiple houses in my neighborhood have been robbed recently though, and one of the houses had a guy beaten down when he was home without a car in the driveway. I have little experience with guns, just some medium experience with shotguns and rifles; whereas handguns I have only used about 2-3 times. I was thinking Mossberg 500 or semi-auto shotgun, but a buddy of mine in the military that briefly talked to me about this said that wasn't a good choice, as my hallways are too narrow to make the turns with a long barrel, so he recommended Glock 17 or 19. The Daniel Defense DDM4 rifle has proven itself to be one of the best in the business when it comes to home defense rifles. These are called "point of contact" states. Ensure that it's stored away from where children or other "unauthorized" users might get hold of it. So say you live in Maryland but you visit a gun store across the border in Virginia that has a pistol you want. It sounds like there’s an intruder in your house. When it comes to ammo choice, 9mm is what you want for self-defense. You ask how much it is and you're satisfied with the price, so you tell the clerk you want it. Like shotguns, handguns aren't a bad choice for home defense, but they have some disadvantages compared to a rifle. With reduced recoil and flash, it definitely earns its place on the list. With that in mind, here are 12 of the best homemade weapons you can make yourself. http://www.activeresponsetraining.net/lock-your-damn-doors-2018-edition. We also understand that seeking home defense aids is touchy; you want to avoid issues by seeking non-lethal home defense means. Cookies help us deliver our Services. Don't bother with lasers that mount to the gun; they're a waste of time and money. Some of their main parts are aluminum, which doesn't rust, and their plastic parts are sturdy yet easily replaceable. Cookies help us deliver our Services. Over the years, my home defense weapon of choice has