I'm a self-taught, intermediate-level "developer" by my reckoning who can't seem to build anything meaningful. What self taught programmers are better at They Certainly, there are a lot of things that the self taught programmers are really good at. All as a teenager without a laptop! I divided the course into five sections: 1. The Self-Taught Programmer is a publication about programming, productivity, breaking down the degree barrier, and self-improvement. Self taught usually means "interested in the art", and generally speaking they work out better than 4 year grads who only know programming from what they learned in school. A self-taught developer will spend more time figuring out the answers because he or she does not have readily available answers. He applied that same idea to learning programming and built his own real-world app projects. Lessons from 7 self-taught coders who now work full time as software developers. Many self taught programmer simply have done it for so long that they learned how to code and solve problems without a help from anyone else. Most people wanna learn programming but most of all have lots of obstacles in the way. Learn to program in Python 3 and build your first program. Learn Object-oriented programming and create a powerful Python program to get you hooked. I started learning 9 months ago. The only thing Iâ d add is, when doing tutorials whether in a book or online, type out all of the code in addition to trying to understand what it does. If you are self taught you probably do not have job experience. This for a self taught might overlap, be the same as experience section. How To Become a Self-Taught Programmer? qualifications/skills. Jessica Chan. I work full time. Learn to program in Python 3 and build your first program. People who have learnt programming via youtube, udemy or any other media are required. There are a lot of bad answers here, so I will try to provide something of value. 3. Personal projects or open source pr